Join Clockenflap’s Music Director Justin Sweeting for another sagacious selection of the best new music from around Asia and the world at large. Treat your ears to the latest from Manchester-based indie-pop songstress Phoebe Green, Belfast post-punks Enola Gay, and Montreal-based Japanese psych-rock band Teke::Teke, plus neo-soul from Singapore’s Dru Chen, offbeat R&B from Tsing Yi-born singer-songwriter Gareth.T, and a collaboration between Bangkok indie outfit Folk9 and Japan’s Luby Sparks. 


1. MeikyuTeke::Teke
2. ReinventPhoebe Green
3. Tie Me UpBelako
4. Boyfriend MaterialGareth.T
5. Cheer Up BabyInhaler
6. Circles ft. Luby SparksFolk9
7. Pub FeedThe Chats
8. Not up for Discussion ft. Laura LeeNiia
9. The Reach ft. Sparkz & Truthos MufasaAfro Cluster
10. Don’t Waste My Timelau.ra
11. ReplayDru Chen
12. The Birth of a NationEnola Gay
13. Dan BwaBabani Soundsystem
Share this

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show

Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 35