The latest edition of The Thirteen features British singer-songwriter Will Joseph Cook, Singaporean teenage dream-pop sensation Shye and Beijing shoegaze band Default. There’s also the latest release from revitalised New York indie icons The Strokes and a glorious rendition of ‘Such Great Heights’ from The Postal Service’s new live album. 


1  The Adults Are TalkingThe Strokes
2  HyeOnthedal
3  CarolineArlo Parks
4  Angels (Emily)cehryl
5  I Don’t Know What I’m DoingMaxïmo Park
6  Can You Hear the Whistle BlowDefault
7  Be Around MeWill Joseph Cook
8  In My FlickersAiry
9  Beef On WeckGentle Dom
10  I’m Fine, NoShye.
11 The CrackGoat Girl
12  As the World Caves InMatt Maltese
13  Such Great Heights (Live)The Postal Service
Share this

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show

Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 20