The best new music from Asia collides with the most essential releases from the rest of the world as Clockenflap’s Music Director Justin Sweeting presents another unmissable edition of The Thirteen. Alongside the latest singles from Thailand’s Dept, Taiwan’s Sonia Calico and HK’s Kevin Kaho Tsui, there’s a taster of Aesop Rock’s new album, and fresh tracks from hotly tipped London bands Dry Cleaning and Chubby and the Gang.


1  Scratchcard LanyardDry Cleaning
2  Cycle of LoveDept
3  Popshop!Courting
4  I’d Better Be On Time Huan Huan 緩緩
5  The GatesAesop Rock
6  Waiting For Your Calling BackSultan Of The Disco
7  WhirlpoolTold Slant
8  Live Another LifeSon Lux
9  All Along The Uxbridge RoadChubby & The Gang
10  ComfortableQuarter-Life Crisis (feat. Hand Habits)
11 Club SimulationSonia Calico
12  Better DaysKevin Kaho Tsui
13  Where You Find MeThe Notwist
Share this

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show

Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 17