Spanning the globe from Hong Kong to Ohio and Singapore to Wigan, Justin serves up another dose of pure musical eclecticism in this week’s edition of The Thirteen. As well as singles from Cavetown, Made Kuti and Ólafur Arnalds ft. Bonobo, there’s the hugely exciting return of the one-and-only Stevie Wonder, with the eagerly awaited first music from his new label, What the Fuss Records.


1  MineOhmme
2  Can’t Put It In The Hands Of Fate ft. Rapsody, Cordae, Chika & Busta RhymesStevie Wonder
3  SharpenerCavetown
4  Free Your MindMade Kuti
5  I See Your GhostThe Lathums
6  SugarcainePora
7  A Window/O’KeeffeEmmy The Great
8  Am I SomethingCloud Nothings
9  Out Of The BlueRINI
10  Candlelight ft. OHHYUKSunset Rollercoaster
11 CarriePREP
12  Freedom FadesMasia One & ALX
13  Loom ft. BonoboÓlafur Arnalds

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show


Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 13