On this week’s The Thirteen, Justin takes another whistle-stop tour of the musical world, with essential new tracks from Chet Faker, Goat Girl and Men I Trust rubbing shoulders with songs from Thailand’s Whal & Dolph Japan’s Zombie-Chang, Korea’s Chudahye Chagis and Norway’s Boy Pablo, plus Daniel Avery’s uplifting tribute to the late, great Andrew Weatherall. 


1  Susie MullenKing Creosote
2  Shed LightMoon Gangs
3  Sad CowboyGoat Girl
4  Ritual DanceChudaye Chagis
5  1,000,000 X BetterGriff, HONNE
7  BlueNewDad
8  ผ่านมาผ่านไป (I Feel You)Whal & Dolph
9  LowChet Faker
10  Bon Ivermxmtoon
11 leave me alone!boy pablo
12  Lucky SueMen I Trust
13  Lone SwordsmanDaniel Avery

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show


Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 11