This week on The Thirteen, we delve into another eclectic baker’s dozen of the best new tracks from around Asia and the world, including the latest single from Eels soon-to-be-released 13th studio album, plus new music from Korea’s Shallow Levée and Billy Carter, Canadian-Sudanese poet/singer Mustafa, and Hong Kong-based Mexican electronic duo Deer MX.


1  Are We Alright AgainEels
2  Air ForcesMustafa
3  陷眠Shallow Levée 淺堤
4  Imber ft. Ellie Rose-DaviesPet Shimmers
5  Wasn’t Born To FollowYo La Tengo
6  Dead Souls (Mark Reeder’s Not Fade Away Remix)DeerMX
7  You Are The TrafficCOIN
8  CALL ME (Freestyle)Blood Orange & 박혜진 Park Hye Jin
10  Invisible MonsterBilly Carter 빌리카터
11 CaviarAsha Imuno
12  BIRYANIAshwarya
13  Nightdtr0n
Share this

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show

Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 9