Join Clockenflap’s Music Director Justin Sweeting for another horizon-expanding collection of new music from around the world as he sidles up to the latest releases from Idles, Bow Anderson and King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, as well as tracks from Indonesian indie twiddlers Goodnight Electric, Seoul math-rockers Dabda and Australian-Zimbabwean hip-hop artist Tkay Maidze.


1  Model VillageIdles
2  CareBeabadoobee
3  HoneyKing Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard
4  SweaterBow Anderson
5  JourneyDabda (다브다)
6  Why You Gotta Do ItWillie J Healey
7  ShookTkay Maidza
8  -DopaminGoodnight Electric
9  Hit your limitDan Croll
10  Tree of LifeSpaven x Sandunes
11  United Girls Rock’n’Roll ClubChai x Hinds
12  Dear Luna (80s Crush Remix)OJ Law, Feiloubeats
13  Stable Life, Suffer Exams (穩定生活多美好 三年五年高普考)Your Woman Sleeps With Others (老王樂隊)

As the co-founder and Music Director of both Magnetic Asia and the Clockenflap festival, Justin Sweeting has been responsible for giving Hongkongers the opportunity to see a succession of the world’s most compelling live acts over the past 15 years, from New Order, The Libertines, The Chemical Brothers and Sigur Rós to Nile Rodgers, Primal Scream, The 1975 and A$AP Rocky, to name but a few. Born and raised in Hong Kong, Sweeting previously established pan-regional cross-media platform AMP (Asia’s Music Platform) for Channel [V] and Fox, and played a significant role in the development of a reliable touring circuit for international artists in the region, as well as nurturing local grassroots music scenes across Asia. Driven by his insatiable thirst for discovering new music and his desire to forge deeper connections between Asia and the global music industry, Sweeting can often be found spreading the word about Asia's musical potential – and uncovering the hottest new international acts – at prestigious events, festivals and conferences around the world.

More from this show


Sign-up for the latest Clockenflap news

Episode 5